Loyola Literacy Team acknowledged with prestigious award

Loyola Literacy Team

The inspirational Loyola Senior High School Mount Druitt Literacy Team was recently acknowledged with an Australian College of Educational Leaders NSW Leadership Award. Led by Antoinette Meade, this passionate team of educators includes Sally Johnstone, Bridget Ward, Magda Mizzi, Samantha Fresco and Chrissy Payne.

Loyola Senior High Principal Cathy Larkin nominated the literacy staff for recognition because she admires their drive and determination, as well as their outstanding contribution to growing academic aspiration for students in western Sydney.

“These enthusiastic educators have created a learning environment that inspires students and their teachers to realise unimagined academic possibilities,” Cathy said.

The Loyola Literacy Team planned and introduced a whole school strategy to give students greater agency in their literacy learning and also provide teachers with the tools to improve student results as both readers and writers.

A strong school-wide focus on individual case management in literacy was a particular success of the leadership of the Literacy Team. This promoted sharing of literacy strategies, team approaches to writing skill development and pride in school professional development and student achievement.

Students embraced these opportunities, approaching teachers and committee members for inclusion in case management meetings. Student results have indicated significant improvement gained from participation and recognising that their teachers, as a team, are focussed on their individual improvement in literacy.

Congratulations to each member of the Literacy Team, Principal Cathy Larkin and the entire Loyola Senior High community on this terrific achievement.